A Day in the Park & a Night at the Theatre

While dragging myself out of bed at 7 in the morning was not the most enjoyable experience, I’ve been running low on money the past couple days and procrastinated actually going to an ATM until today. Because I had both my English 335 and Theatre 266 classes today and only a half an hour between to eat lunch, I figured that I would just hit up the ATM before classes and not have to worry about running late for my second class. After withdrawing from the ATM I turned around to head home when I found myself across the street from the cutest littlest cafe called Chamomile. Figuring that I still had an hour and a half before my first class I went to check out the menu because a few of my friends had grabbed lunch from the cafe a few days earlier and said that the food was absolutely amazing.

Image

Because I’m obviously great at saving money, I figured that now that I actually had cash on hand that, “what the heck I should just get breakfast here!” I grabbed a table in the back for myself and ordered the “Chamomile Special,” which included rustic bread, scrambled eggs, and smoked salmon. The portions were surprisingly large and I found myself having a hard time finishing the scrambled eggs, which felt wasteful but there’s no way I would have eaten them later. I ended up making a breakfast sandwich, which although I’m not sure if that’s really what the “special” was intended for, it was absolutely delicious. The bread, not surprisingly, was the best part! I found out later that it’s actually more expensive to eat in the cafe than it is to just order take away so I’ll probably do that instead the next time I stop by Chamomile.

Image

When I went up to the register to pay for my meal, I noticed that they had fruit smoothies and since my meal was lacking in that category I decided to splurge the extra two pounds for a “Mixed Berry Smoothie.” As I walked out of the cafe, I realized that I still had like 45 minutes until my English class began so I decided to walk down the street and up to Primrose Hill. While a pain in the butt to climb up, Primrose Hill offers some of the best views of the London skyline. So at 8:15 am I found myself huffing and puffing up the hill so I could enjoy the fresh air and idly watch runners and people walking their dogs throughout the park.

Image

After classes ended, a group of friends and I headed up to Hampstead Heath to explore the area and to throw around a frisbee in the park. Contrary to what I previously believed, Hampstead Heath is an entire area and not just a hill, in case anyone was wondering. The park is absolutely gorgeous with ponds, large grassy areas, and even “bathing pools” for swimmers! We climbed all the way up to Parliament Hill which gives an equally stunning view of the London skyline as Primrose Hill. We threw the frisbee around, which was a little rough for me since it’s been around 4 months since the last time I even held a frisbee, but it was a lot of fun getting out with everyone and hanging out with my professor and her son.

Image

Image

We could only stay in Hampstead Heath for so long though because we went to see the “Duchess of Malfi” at the Southwark Theatre at 19:30. The play was dark and kind’ve scary but I really enjoyed the modern spin on the Jacobean play we read this past week in my Theatre class. While the acting was not the strongest, I really enjoyed the fact that basically the only props were chairs and that the play was performed on a “thrust” stage, which I find really engages the relationship between the audience and the actors more so than a traditional stage does.

Image

Leave a Reply

